British Llama Society Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Unusual Llama behaviour

Go down

Unusual Llama behaviour Empty Unusual Llama behaviour

Post  Linda T Sat Oct 23, 2010 6:36 pm

Hi everyone, I hope you don't mind me posting (I don't have Llamas) but I do have a few questions if that is okay.
I am currently in my 3rd year BSc(Hons) Animal Behaviour and Welfare, and one of my assignments this year involves environmental enrichment for captive animals. I am considering Llamas as my chosen species but cannot find any information on normal behaviour, Stereotypic behaviour (used to be called vices) or indeed much info at all.
I think I have observed a stereotypic behaviour in a Llama but as I cannot compare it to natural behaviour I am only guessing. The behaviour involves repeated swinging and circling of the head and neck for no apparant reason. Could this be submissive, dominant, or just frustrated coping behaviour? The llama is in a small group of 3, not worked at all, in a relatively small enclosure (compared to a pasture turnout) and lives in a zoo, so not a natural environment in my opinion. Has anyone else witnessed this behaviour or can anyone offer guidance as to where I can find information on Llamas normal/natural behaviour.
My task is to attempt to reduce this behaviour by providing enrichment such as splitting their fodder into different locations, making them work for their feed, a play ball, food ball etc.
Any information at all would be most welcome.
Thanks in advance and sorry for the long post, Linda. Smile

Linda T

Back to top Go down

Unusual Llama behaviour Empty Re: Unusual Llama behaviour

Post  Brookfieldllamas Wed Oct 27, 2010 10:11 am

Dear Linda,
Welcome to the forum!