British Llama Society Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How far is the older llama trainable?

3 posters

Go down

How far is the older llama trainable? Empty How far is the older llama trainable?

Post  Terry Thu Feb 04, 2010 8:42 pm

Today I received, via my website, a question from Nth Carolina. It concerns training three older llamas (youngest is 5 years) to act as caddies on a golf course. Apparently these male llamas have had no previous human contact. I am asked how trainable they are likely to be!
I have no experience of starting with an older llama; all mine started training at a few months. Can anyone help? Has anyone taken on and been able to catch, halter, lead, groom, desensitize etc a never-been-handled older guy?

Terry Crowfoot

Terry

Number of posts : 20
Registration date : 2009-04-09

Back to top Go down

How far is the older llama trainable? Empty Re: How far is the older llama trainable?

Post  mlonghurst Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:20 pm

Hi,

We regularly train older male llamas (5 years and upwards) that have had very little or no direct human contact prior to arriving here. My experience is that older llamas are extremely adaptable and can be trained to do everything that a younger llama can, but there are some things we have to do differently first in order to gain their trust and to allow them to understand that us 2 legged beings are not a threat and do not mean them harm. The older unhandled llama will also display a tendency to revert to instinctive defensive flight behavior far more rapidly than a handled llama that is used to having human contact.

I would be more than happy to either explain on the forum our approach (this could be fairly lengthy) or if provided with a Telephone No, I could contact (we get free calls to the USA) the individual directly and explain to them in person the process we use to train llamas.

Kind Regards,

Mike Longhurst

mlonghurst